Fruit Vinegars, which is your choice?


This is something new, that I have started doing, making my own fruit vinegars,

The above picture shows l-r blackberry, blueberry and sour cherry vinegars

I have also made a raspberry and chilli one as well.

There are only a couple of steps and you will need:

Fruit of your choice, I find berries when in season are brilliant
Vinegar, I would recommend Aspalls as there is a wide range of choice and a Cabernet Sauvignon Red Wine suits most fruits
Small Kilner jar
Granulated Sugar

This first step is to me the most important.
Select the fruit, for your vinegar, wash, top and tail any fruit, don’t cut up as this will not help the flavour.

Top the fruit up with the vinegar of choice and let it steep for up to 2 2.5 weeks so that the flavour imparts into the vinegar.

When your ready, strain the flavoured vinegar into a bowl and weigh, then add the same amount of granulated sugar and add to a pan, boil for a maximum of 10 minutes, then decant into a sterilised jar and let it cool.

And hey presto! Fruit vinegar has been made.

They can be added to soups to add a sharpness and a tartness to it.

I think just to be different to add them to fish and chips, would add a unique flavour and be the talk of everyone.

These fruit vinegars can be done throughout the year and made seasonally, depending on what fruit is available at the time.

I don’t think I would use banana though, I don’t think this would work, unlike soft fruit, which adds to the fullness of flavour

I hope to make some other vinegars during the year as well, any suggestions?

