Freshly Baked


003

These freshly baked cakes were baked this morning.

They are on the left hand side a cranberry and hazelnut cake plus a pineapple and lime, both are new flavours for 2014 and are waiting to be tasted.

I had some dried cranberries left and they were crying out to be used so what better way to use them up, than in a cake, with the added hazelnuts, it will be an interesting and new taste.

As for the pineapple and lime, that was going to be a whole different flavour which I’ll leave for another time.  I was inspired to use the lime up and added the zest and juice to the sweet pineapple, the lime although quite sharp should contrast against the sweetness of the pineapple.

I can’t wait to try either or both and report back on the results and also I have more ideas waiting to be tried and tested. I can’t say whether they will be cakes, biscuits or something completely out of my comfort zone.  I haven’t yet decided.

Just a quick update, the taste of the pineapple and lime is quite sweet and refreshing at the same time.  The flavours are supposed to work, but being me, it’s nothing ventured nothing gained and yes I’ll try this one again as the flavours are unexpected and unique.

The other cake also has had great feed back and has almost gone as well, I was told it was delicious and yummy and could be alternative version for a Christmas Cake as it is considerably lighter than the usual cakes.

