Flavour first – ideas


Here’s one for you, when making cakes, biscuits, or traybakes do you make the basic mix and then decide what flavours your going to add, or follow a recipe and not be tempted to add your own unique flavour to it, so that it is your own.

Having followed recipes for many years, I decided that if I wanted to make a difference and be noticed I would have to come up with some unique flavour combinations of my own, these have included cranberry and papaya, a flavour combination that shouldn’t work but it does and it is one that I’m quite proud of.  The freshness of the papaya against the sharpness of the cranberry is one that I’ve used in cakes and biscuits.

Don’t be afraid to mix and match flavours as this will give you flavours that you may have never dreamed of or thought of.

It’s not just the sweet flavours either, as there are many savoury flavour combinations that haven’t yet been trialled or tested, this is making for a much more interesting idea and one that can be expanded on a weekly basis and with tasters who are able to advise me on what works and what doesn’t.

I’m thankful that with this dairy/soya allergy and intolerance I can experiment and bring new flavours to the world, perhaps being able to share these with those who have similar allergies and are able to adapt them as I have.

 

